Histories & Culture
The Muslim Calendar

The Muslim Calendar is a lunar calendar with the Muslim year generally 11 days shorter than the 365-day Gregorian year. It is called the Hijra calendar and dates from the Prophet Moham¬mad's flight from Mecca to Medina in 620 A.D. The Hijra year is divided into 12 months, with the months generally having 29 or 30 days, depending on when the new moon is sited. The months are: Muharram, Safar, Rabi al-Awwal, Rabi al-Thani, Jumadi al¬Awwal, Jumadi al-Thani, Rajab. Sha'ban, Ramadan (the month of fasting), Shawwal, Dhul Qi'dah, and Dhul Hijjah.

Holidays in the Muslim calendar year are the following:

Muslim New Year, 1 Muharram

Ashoora, 9 and 10 Muharram

The Prophet's Birthday, 12 Rabi al-Awal

Eid al-Fitr (end of Ramadan), 1-3 Shawwal

Eid al-Ad'ha (end of Pilgrimage), 10-12 Dhul Hijja